Power of the Sleep Button

sometimes I want to stay here and play the fool

sometimes I want to go and be on the other side of the fourth wall

I gotta give them the password at the door

But I’ll be damned if I can remember the correct words

—that’ll be the meds then I suppose

Drag me off the Merry-go-round

Find some wondrous kind of middle ground

Slap bang in the centre of your ADHD attention

Pull the arch lever and make sure you don’t scratch the record

And if you do make sure you hide it within the rest of the collection

(+rewind-)

Infinitesimally

Incremental

Or there from the non-start

Of the all or nothing

Aggressive expansion lets in the Light Brigade

Plugged up so there’ll be no sinking

Plugged in only to stop the cursor blinking

Both physicists and lyricists stop him in the street

‘when your time is up, your oeuvre will remain incomplete’

 

Leave a Reply

