Just Another One (For You, My Friend)

I ask you my old and dearest

Have you written anything beautiful today?

Have you painted a new window

To watch the new dawn from?

Have you sculpted out eyes

To see your neighbours naked?

Have you sketched out a detail

Of what we can do this weekend?

Have you made friend or foe with

The last twenty-four hours?

I ask you this not as an invasion

I ask you this as a call for openness

My left-hand waves to you to see

If you notice me here

And my right hand reminds me I’m

Nothing more than a poet but when

I’m messaging you

And you finally reply

I know it’s enough

For now

Leave a Reply

